Woodford House is governed by a strong and balanced Board of Proprietors and Board of Trustees.

Board of Proprietors

The Board of Proprietors is responsible for the ownership and maintenance of Woodford House land and buildings, the preservation of the Special Character of the School and Boarding House operations.

Twelve board members are appointed for four years, renewable for a maximum further four years including representatives from current and former parents, the Parents’ Association and the Old Girls’ Association.

The Board seeks to maintain a balance of personnel representing geographic, gender, boarding, day girl, rural and urban interests. Usually a prospective Proprietor is unofficially approached to determine whether he/she has the time and willingness to serve as a Proprietor. If so, a curriculum vitae is then circulated among Board Members who vote on the appointment. However, any parent who is interested in either joining the Board of Proprietors, or promoting the candidature of another, is encouraged to advise a current Proprietor of such interest, and provide a CV in support.

Mike Brougham, Board of Proprietors Chair

Mike has a background in corporate and international business having worked for multinational companies in Australia and New Zealand. He currently owns and manages a manufacturing business with operations in China, the UK, Australia and New Zealand.

Over the course of Mike’s career, he has gained significant governance experience having been on several industry boards.

Mike has also had a long-term interest in education and holds a Bachelor of Business Studies (majoring in Marketing) from Massey University and a MBA from Monash University.

Mike has four children including a daughter currently attending Woodford House.

For further information, please contact Mike Brougham, Board Chair.


The board of trustees boardroom

Board of Proprietors Members

  • Mike Brougham
  • Malcolm Jackson
  • Mary Sherratt
  • Anna Wright
  • Rev Deborah Broome
  • Andrew Ritchie
  • Julie Peterson
  • Gareth Kilsby
  • Vicki Lawson
  • Emily Every
  • James Winchester

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees governs the Woodford House day school and is made up of five elected parent representatives, up to four Proprietors’ representatives, a member of staff, a student representative and the Principal.

Cyn Smith - Presiding Member

Cyn is a registered secondary teacher with 25 years’ experience teaching in a range of state and independent schools. Most recently (2006-2020) Cyn was Director of Tihoi Venture School for St. Pauls Collegiate – living on site, teaching, managing and leading the satellite outdoor campus at Tihoi. 

Cyn brings governance experience from 11 years on the Marotiri School Board, 10 of those years as Chairperson.

Cyn works as General Manager for growing Future Farmers, a nationwide vocational training programme giving young people opportunities to enter the sheep and beef sector. Cyn lives in Kinloch and has two daughters boarding at Woodford House.

For further information, please contact the Cyn Smith, Presiding Member.

Board of Trustee Members

  • Cyn Smith
  • Callum Harper
  • Lorna Morice
  • Julie Peterson
  • Jzirah Ridley – Student Representative
  • Dr Louise Trent
  • Christine De Punt
  • Tony Martin
  • Phil Mitchell
  • Mike Brougham
  • Gareth Kilsby
  • Vicki Lawson