2022 Performing Arts, Design & Creative Technologies Breakfast

On Thursday 27 October, we held our annual Performing Arts, Design & Creative Technologies Awards Breakfast to recognise the outstanding achievements of our students.

As Deputy Principal, Mrs Rachel Roberts, mentioned in her opening address, the Cultural Cornerstone has been thriving throughout the year despite COVID-19 cancelling or postponing events. 

Our girls should be incredibly proud of their efforts, dedication and achievements. Thank you to our staff and tutors who provide their expertise and time to support our students and provide them with wonderful opportunities. 

Photos capturing the award winners are available to view and download below.


Visual Art, Design and Creative Technologies

Creativity in Senior Materials Design: India McIntyre
Creativity in Junior Materials Design: Scarlett Flanders
Tutor’s Award for Communication Design: Tamzin Buck
Tutor’s Award for Senior Art: Liberty Jackson
Tutor’s Award for Junior Art: Millie Cameron
Tutor’s Award for Photography: Peiru (Cherry) Pang
Tutor’s Award for Product and Spatial Design: Hineatauria Pahuru-Kaa
Tutor’s Award for Textiles Related Design: Aroha Kent
Junior Photo Club – Greatest Participation: Makayla Livingston
Junior Photo Club – Images Most Voted for by her Peers: Eleanor Bowie
Woodford House Photography Competition – Senior Category: Abstract: Saba Green
Woodford House Photography Competition – Junior Category: Reflections: Florence Dear
Woodford House Photography Competition – Open Category: Surreal Architecture: Harriet Wong
Scannell Cup: Tamzin Buck
Award for Chronicle: Cover Design: Meghan Wuisan

Cultural, Dance, Drama

Most Valued Contribution to Debating: Maggie Grimshaw
Most Valued Contribution to Public Speaking: Maggie Grimshaw
Most Valued Contribution to Kapa Haka: Maddi Ives and Kayleigh Stubbs
Most Valued Contribution to Arts Management: Courtney Woodmass
Most Valued Contribution to Dance: Saraya Rowlands and Issy Westwood
Most Valued Contribution to Theatre Production: Meghan Wuisan and Catherine (Katie) Jackson
Services to Drama: Rose Harwood and Millie Lightfoot
FAMSS Cup for Resilience in Drama: Isabella McGeough


Practical Services to the Music Department: Katy Zhuang and Katie Greenwood-Beard
Most Effective Arts Leadership in the Music Department: Courtney Woodmass
Most Valued Member of an Instrumental Ensemble: Gabriella Jones
Tutor’s Award for Piano Tuition: Jua Kim
Tutor’s Award for Guitar Tuition: Soomin Lee
Tutor’s Award for Vocal Tuition: Courtney Woodmass
Tutor’s Award for Instrumental Tuition: Kiki Wong
Most Valued Member of Cantante Dulci: Jessica Hudson and Rhiannon McGahey
Most Valued Member of Up Close: Meg Chilton
Most Valued Member of Chapel Choir: Courtney Woodmass
Adjudicator’s Award for Music Cup: Jua Kim
Most Valued Contribution from a Performance Group: Colori Primari – Miharu Nagata, Man Lok Tsang, Meghan Wuisan,

Excellence Awards

Debating, VPA Committee, Te Ropu Maori, Public Speaking: Maggie Grimshaw
Debating, Up Close, ITM Piano, Chapel Choir, Chamber Music, Blossom Festival, Big Sing: Liberty Jackson
Drama: Ruby Jarvis
Speech and Drama: Amanat Kumar
Head of Drama, VPA Committee: Millie Lightfoot
Orchestra, ITM Piano, Chamber Music: ZhiQian Lu
Debating: Imogen Lovell
Debating: Rosa McKenzie
Up Close, Orchestra, Chamber Music, Young Musician of the Year, Flute Choir, ITM Flute, Blossom Festival, Big Sing: Miharu Nagata
Dance NZ Made: Jazz Nuku
VPA Committee, Orchestra, ITM Cello, ITM Piano, Dance NZ Made, Chamber Music, Head of Design: Cherry Pang
Head of Dance, Dance NZ Made, VPA Committee, ITM Dan: Saraya Rowlands
Orchestra, ITM Cello: Martine Sandberg
VPA Committee, Jnr Photography Club, Head of Visual Art and Photography: Joelie Scott
VPA Committee, Orchestra, ITM Flute, Flyte Choir, Chamber Music; Man Lok Tsang
Debating: Charlotte Treadwell
Issy Westwood: Debating, Dance NZ Made, ITM Dance, ITM Guitar 
VPA Committee, Up Close, Chapel Choir, ITM Voice, Big Sing, Blossom Festival: Courtney Woodmass
Dance, Materials Technologies: Harriett Wong

Premium Awards

Kerr Trophy for Outstanding Contribution to the Arts: Meghan Wuisan
Actor of the Year: Issy Westwood
Junior Musician of the Year: Louisa Openshaw
Musician of the Year: Miharu Nagata
Gunson Cup for Achievement in Performing Arts from an Intermediate Student: Jessica Hudson
Principal’s Award for Excellence in the Arts: Miharu Nagata